What You Need to Know About Utah’s No-Fault Auto Insurance Rules – Utah Pulse | CarTailz

Source: justicepays.com

Each state has its own insurance laws and regulations, which are not always as simple as we would like. You may have heard the term no-fault insurance before, but you may not know exactly what it means — so here’s an explanation of Utah’s no-fault insurance rules and what they mean for you.

What is no-fault car insurance?

Source: fltlaw.com

No-fault insurance is a type of insurance that is mandatory in 12 states, including Utah. No-fault insurance refers to a policy where the driver’s insurer covers medical bills, lost income, or other expenses related to the injury.

No-fault benefits are paid regardless of who is at fault in a personal injury accident. The no-fault rules also limit the amount of drivers who can sue for things like pain and suffering when another driver is at fault. This means if you’re involved in an accident and have liability insurance, you don’t have to make a claim with the other insurer – your insurer will cover your injury-related costs.

So what is the difference between this and a culpable insurance scheme? With (more traditional) fault insurance, drivers take out liability insurance to protect themselves against damages and medical bills after an accident. The implication is that if the driver is held liable for the damage, the insurance company is responsible for paying for the damage.

This means that an accident is followed by an investigation where insurance investigators try to determine who is liable for the damage – for example if they have shown negligence, broke the law, etc. This also spells out one of the key differences between no fault and at -fault insurance is that no-fault claims are processed faster because liability does not need to be proven and therefore no investigation is required.

Minimum requirements for Utah liability insurance

Source: fltlaw.com

Now let’s break down the numbers and see what no-fault insurance rules mean for your insurance premiums.

According to Ross Martin of The Zebra, the legal minimum state requirements in Utah are:

Liability:

  • Personal injury $25,000 per person
  • Personal injury $65,000 per accident
  • Property damage $15,000 per accident

Personal Protection (PIP):

PIP is a type of coverage that is mandatory for Utah drivers, as well as out-of-state drivers who have operated a vehicle in the state of Utah for 90 of the last 365 days. You must have this coverage if the vehicle remains in Utah even if the driver is not.

So how much will this cost you? The answer depends on many factors. Drivers in Utah pay 9% less than the national average in auto insurance premiums, approximately $1,386 per year. However, this can vary quite a bit depending on the city you live in and the insurance company you do business with.

For example, the best cheap auto insurance in Utah by company rating (according to The Zebra) is USAA at $311 per year. But if you have bad credit, GEICO is the cheapest option in Utah. And if you’re in a culpable accident in Utah, your premiums go up significantly—up to $2,000 a year or more.

In which cases does the insurance company pay compensation?

Source: boujlaw.com

When we think of insurance and compensation, the first thing that comes to mind is compensation for damage to the vehicle or possibly personal injury caused in an accident. However, there are a few other categories that require insurance.

We are talking about non-pecuniary damage, which includes minor and major injuries, fear suffered, impairment of viability, emotional pain from particularly serious injuries, and death of loved ones.

Unlike material damage, for the successful recovery of non-material damage, which includes the fear suffered in a traffic accident, the reporting deadlines are much shorter and it is expected to be reported within 48 hours at the latest in order to file a complaint real assessment of the damage.

Sue a culpable driver in Utah

Source: seriesmaza.com

So we have established that if you are at fault, your insurance will cover certain costs. But does that mean bad luck if you want to sue the defaulting driver for additional costs, such as ongoing medical bills? Not necessarily – within certain limits you can still sue the other driver for additional damages.

To be eligible for further liability in Utah, the injured driver or passenger must have medical bills of at least $3,000 and/or sustained serious injury. Under Utah law, these thresholds are permanent disability or impairment, permanent disfigurement, or dismemberment.

If you have suffered one or more of these injuries, you are entitled to make another claim against the at-fault driver, seeking pain and suffering and other non-pecuniary damages.

Other Insurance Options

Source: dandelife.com

Even with no-fault insurance, there are some other optional coverages you might consider, such as:

Accident insurance is required for leased or financed cars and is not mandatory for most vehicles. Collision insurance pays for any damage to your vehicle in the form of a replacement or repair, regardless of who is at fault.

Comprehensive insurance is coverage for damage not caused by an accident. This can include severe weather, fire, vandalism, theft and more. Most states consider this optional, although financed or leased cars may be required.

Uninsured/Underinsured Driver Protection covers you if you have an accident with an uninsured driver – or a driver who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the damage and medical costs. This is required in less than half of the US states, but is generally an inexpensive option to add to your insurance policy.

Either way, insurance is one of those investments you hope you’ll never need, but if an accident happens, you’ll be thankful.

Source: florinroebig.com

In short, if you are the direct cause of an accident, the insurance will save you high costs for the damage you have caused to yourself or another road user. If you are not at fault, you can still charge for the damage to the vehicle and the fear you suffered or physical injury you caused.

In such cases, many hire lawyers to speed up the whole process and save additional work. The advantage of hiring a lawyer when making claims for damages is that they have far more legal knowledge than the agencies for collecting such damages, which often leaves clients in the lurch when they can’t recover a quick buck through a peaceful process, and this don’t want to go to court at all. , on the other hand they are very aggressive in acquiring clients, often harassing them on the phone or in worse cases even going to hospitals in person and disturbing their peace.

Leave a Comment